A futuristic linguistic scare?

What a surprising floppy disk

The English Language is changing, especially my own. It’s like when I don my brand spanking new suit, and get an egg thrown at me. It changes. Recent studies and various articles from all over the world.wide.web. are influencing the opinion that the English language is dying out. Surely this is all true? No, that’s where you’re wrong. Technology is paving the way for the futuristic development of language.

Being a youth myself, I have had to utilise and grow up with the surrounding presence of technological words. I say words, they are technically initialisms and abbreviations, just saying. But still, as pointed out by Anne Furlong, (associate professor to do with English Language at UPEI – let’s be honest you wouldn’t want to meet her in a dark alley with a dictionary) she said that ‘It isn’t the end of the world as we know it, not even close’. Even though it had been branded by this by the older geriatrics, it confuses them in the sense that they cannot tell the difference between their floppy disks and their hard dongles. Though stereotypical, it seems to be those of the older wartime generations who have no sense of understanding and wish to stay as prescriptivists (See John Humphrey’s article).

However, when you open the door of opportunity to the realms of the English Language future, you are greeted with the endless possibilities of new words and phrases. If you thought the texting term ‘LOL’ was good, wait until you’ve decoded the possible futuristic term ‘SHELY’ (could stand for Seth Hearts English Language Y’all, other possibilities are available). I personally believe that the technological advances seen in the UK are beneficial to the dictionary and our vocabulary. Another person who supports this view is Sinclair (not the maker of the Sinclair C5 disappointingly, I want one of those) who believes that technology is more compressed than actual writing, which when influenced via the technological implements produces those elements which I have previously mentioned.

English Language itself has evolved at a fast pace already. My own language has decided to reject the term ‘cake sponges’ (those cake bits in a trifle) and instead implement the term ‘Lady fingers’. I don’t think that has any relevance but I thought I would include it. Our language is not at any risk of dying out (unlike David Attenborough), however, it will evolve to produce some whacky cracking new words for the dictionary and our own use. And this has been done by technology, which in a separate argument is helping the world of language change.

Finally, I still have no idea how to change my Mii on my Nintendo Wii. Hopefully someone reading this will play 100 pin bowling with me and talk to me about the future of the English Language (RHC English Language department, and Mrs Hogg from Holyrood?). But for now, Seth Dellow, signing out for the count the Duke orsino.

 

Leave a Reply

